Recertification About Changing Certification Levels

Recertification About Changing Certification Levels

If you hold an EMT, AEMT or Paramedic certification you can request to change levels by dropping to a lower level certification. Any EMT, AEMT or Paramedic that would like to change levels must make the request during their recertification cycle.  EMR providers do not have the option to drop to a lower level. 

If you choose to change certification levels, you will be required to test to regain your previous level. For example, if you are an EMT that drops to EMR, you would need to meet all entry requirements for the EMT level, including completing the National Registry cognitive exam and level appropriate psychomotor exam. 

A request for changing your certification level should be submitted to allow you enough time to complete your renewal process. Processing times for requests may vary due to fluctuations in workload during the recertification season. Higher volumes mean longer processing times. 

All other changes in certification must be completed by meeting the entry requirements for the appropriate level and testing to gain certification. 

For More Information Please Review the Articles Below:


We want to better serve our EMS community. Didn't find the article you were looking for? Email us at,, with your ideas for new articles or even general feedback on our existing ones.
    • Related Articles

    • How to Change Certification Level

      Please use the steps below to change your current certification level to a lower one. Once your certification level has been changed, you must still meet all recertification requirements and deadlines. Please email your request to change levels to ...
    • Gaining National Certification

      The links directly below are for the Entry Requirements for each of the recognized levels. Hold a current National Registry certification and looking for more information on maintaining your certification or possibly changing certification levels, ...
    • Late Recertification

      For EMR providers if all education was completed by September 30 of the year your certification expires, you can submit late recertification application. You have until October 31 to submit a late application with the $50 reinstatement fee and ...
    • Level Appropriate EMS Education

      You can use continuing education from other certification levels, including but not limited to EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic. Other levels of certification recognized for continuing include but are not limited to critical care, flight, and community ...
    • Lapsed Certification

      For individuals who do not complete all recertification requirements by their expiration date, their certification will lapse. A lapsed certification means that a provider will have to regain certification. Lapsed certification information can be ...